Illuminated Calligraphy, Uncategorized

A Student’s Prayer by St. Thomas Aquinas, illuminated calligraphy

IMG_0421

© Letizia Morley 2010

From the archives, an early illuminated calligraphy work I did for my husband. He asked me to do this as a decoration for his classroom. The font, or script, is called Fraktur Miniscule, in use from about 1400 onward and very popular for vernacular works at the time. I used a Celtic Knotwork tutorial book to do the border. I used felt-tip pens instead of paint.

Standard

Leave a Reply

